Navajo Nation Congressional Delegation Sworn In Today

e-mail icon

Contact: Jared King
Communications Director
Navajo Nation Washington Office
Cell 202.200.0625

For Immediate Release

Navajo Nation Congressional Delegation Sworn In Today

WASHINGTON—Members of the Navajo Nation congressional delegation in the 113th Congress were sworn in today following the election of John Boehner as Speaker of the House. Nancy Pelosi retains her seat as House Minority Leader.

Returning to the House chamber is Reps. Ben Ray Lujan, D-N.M., Steve Pearce, R-N.M., Jason Chaffetz, R-Utah and Ann Kirkpatrick, D-Ariz.

Republican Senator Orin Hatch from Utah is joined by Jeff Flake, R-Ariz., and Martin Heinrich, D-N.M, in the Senate chamber.

The new and releected members join Sens. Tom Udall, D-N.M., and John McCain, R-Ariz., and Mike Lee, R-Utah., who were not up for reelection this last election cycle in November 2012.

Lawmakers are expected to take up a variety of legislative matters in the coming weeks prior to the Presidential Inauguration January 21, 2013.